May 24

Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine : A Novel by Gail Honeyman

Eleanor Oliphant is certainly NOT completely fine. She lives in Glasgow, is about to turn 30 and has worked in the same office for nine years and  made no friends.  She has no social skills and has a disfiguring scar on her face and her work mates tease and taunt her mercilessly. While she may be […]

May 23

Knitted Hats and Beanies by Jenny Occleshaw

Knitted Hats and Beanies by Jenny Occleshaw. Winter is finally here and it’s time to break out those knitting needles. Here at Elanora library we have been madly knitting poppies for the poppy project, but after making over a hundred of those I felt like branching out and knitting something new! We have lots of great […]

May 22

Home Fire : by Shamsie, Kamila

Home Fire : Shortlisted for the Costa Novel Award 2017 by Shamsie, Kamila. What an engaging book and so relevant to today’s world.  It perfectly illustrates the difficult situation in Britain for Muslim citizens in the current political climate.  I found it very readable – which can’t be said for all Man Booker Prize winners.  […]

May 22

Kin by Snorri Kristjansson

Kin by Snorri Kristjansson In my opinion there is nothing better than getting involved in a good historical novel, that is of course unless it is an historical mystery novel. To add to the intrigue the novel is set in Viking times in 970. It is a dark, lively tale that involves members of a […]

May 21

Stella and Margie / Glenna Thomson

  Stella and Margie is Australian novelist Glenna Thomson’s second novel.   I’m not usually a big fan of Australian fiction – don’t get me started on Tim Winton – but I really enjoyed this book. Set on a cattle property in rural Australia, the novel explores the  relationships between various members of a farming family. […]

May 11

A Hundred small lessons

A Hundred small lessons by Brisbane author Ashley Hay is a novel that would appeal to readers of Kate Morton and Kristin Hannah. The novel is told in dual narrative. The reader meets Elsie and Lucy, two very different women, from two different generations who are connected by one common feature……their house. When elderly Elsie falls she […]

May 09

The Trick

The Great Zabbatini was once a great magician, who wowed audiences with his great illusions but now he is a bitter, delusional old man who wishes to perform his final earthly trick. That of disappearing permanently from the face of the Earth and his awful life. “No one had a more acute sense of disillusionment […]

May 07

The Shoemaker’s wife

In 1905, young brothers Ciro and Eduardo are taken to the convent of San Nicola by their newly widowed mother. Ciro and Eduardo are robust, healthy mountain boys who know the value of brotherhood, are not afraid of hard work and appreciate the beauty of their village home in the Northern Italian Alps. As the chapters […]

Daughter of Charles I

Daughter of Charles I, by Melanie Clegg. Post by Sandra. This book depicts the life of Henrietta Anne, a princess of England who evaded capture from Oliver Cromwell’s forces and  joined her mother, Henrietta Maria, (the queen of the unfortunate Charles I) at the French court. Henrietta grew up at the French court and subsequently […]

May 03

Looking for Alaska

Looking for Alaska by John Green. Post by Kahla. This book was beautifully written and very real. This story line isn’t sugar coated and really captures the fact that after someone dies, life does go on.  I love how John Green shared the fact that the characters eventually found peace with Alaska’s death but also noted […]