Non-fiction audiobooks make exercise bearable!

Recently I’ve been reading a lot of non-fiction for entertainment. The book that sparked me to post is Freakonomics. It’s a book about finding the connections between unconnected ideas like “Why do most drug dealers live with their mothers?” and “What do sumo wrestlers and primary school teachers have in common?”

I actually listened to on CD, rather than reading it. I’m the least fit librarian I know. I’ve bought a treadmill and some sneakers, but using them is really mind-numbingly boring.  So, I listened to Freakonomics and it lasted me about a week.

I’ve also recently enjoyed Longitude, which was turned into a movie that starred Jeremy Irons, as I recall.

Without an accurate timepiece, sailors could tell how far they were between the north and south poles, but could never really be sure how far they were east or west of land. In 1707 an English Admiral, with the delightful name of Sir Cloudesley Shovell, completely mistook his position and sailed his squadron into the Isles of Scilly, leading to 1400 deaths. So, a board was appointed and a series of accuracy-based prizes announced. The highest prize, 20 000 pounds, was for being able to determine longitude within 56 kilometers. This book is about the man who came closest to winning the prize, and who developed the basic clock that remained in use until quartz crystal clocks overtook them late in the 20th century.