In gratitude for audiobooks

Over the New Year I have been quite unwell. It made me more, than ever, a great fan of the audiobook. Avoiding the boredom of being bedridden, I have been in my study, snoozing gently to the sound of audiobooks played from my computer.

I worked my way through a series of Nero Wolfe radio plays, hosted by the fundamentally fantastic Internet Archive. They don’t quite play Archie Goodwin the way I see him in my mind, but they are still excellent. I also finally got around to listening to The murder of Roger Ackroyd. This is seminal work in the mystery genre by Agatha Christie. I already knew the ending twist, so it didn’t really matter that I listened to it, half conscious, sometimes snoozing, while recuperating. (Those of you watching the marvelous David Suchet as Poirot are, in this case, missing out, because the twist has been removed in the television version.)

I also listened to some Sherlock Holmes radio plays, which are very funny, because Watson keeps taking breaks to encourage the narrator to flog meanswear on behalf of the sponsors. A better collection might have been this one, which are the old Basil Rathbone plays.

And so I’d like to suggest to you that if you have never downloaded an audiobook, you take a few minutes to check out our OverDrive service, and to check out Internet Archive. You can never tell when you are going to be a bit under the weather, and there’s something very comforting to be able to listen to a favourite author while you snooze away in a comfy chair.

(Oh, a special bonus for Nero Wolfe fans. After a rights problem, the radio producers kept making Wolfe stories, but changed the names of the characters. Here’s a link to the Fat man.)