International Year of Quinoa?

Quinoa is not a grass, but its seeds have been...

This is raw quinoa.  See, not scary at all, really. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

OK, so the United Nations has also declared it the Year of Water Co-operation and that’s laudible, but a year of quinoa? That’s something I can support as a reading and skill development challenge.

The Library Service has only four cookbooks specifically on quinoa, but there are lots of recipes in our vegetarian section. Quinoa is popular with vegetarians because it is a complete protein, and because it is grain-like, so it can swap in for rice and cous cous.

Now, personally, I usually cook quinoa in my rice cooker, because, if you have a rice cooker, why wouldn’t you? Most people say to cook it like white rice, but I add a smidge more stock, because I like it softer and fluffier.  I like it with a mock chicken stock, myself. I also have it with curries, replacing rice, and I particularly enjoy it with hot lime pickle.

Do you have a good quinoa recipe? Share in the comments!