104 in 2014

Book 9

Take down 20 by Janet  Evanovich.

 

Someone said to me recently that Janet Evanovich is doing a lot of cutting and pasting in her books. I have to agree. The is a lot repetition from previous books, I think that if you are up to book 20 of a series you probably don’t need to be reminded of every character.  I had enjoyed the Stephanie Plum antics up until now, and now, I am indifferent.  Although to be fair, Take Down Twenty does have a giraffe in it, that was a little left of centre for Ms Evanovich. There is the usual will she or won’t she choose Ranger or Morelli, and of course the endless descriptions of the outrageous outfits of Lula, but I am not sure I care anymore.

Book 10

Etiquette and Espionage by Gail Carriger

This is my first foray into steampunk, so I have nothing to compare it to and there may be better examples (and I would pleased to hear what they are) but I really enjoyed it.  
Fourteen-year-old Sophronia Temminick is the bane of her mother’s existence. Sophronia is more interested in dismantling clocks and climbing trees than proper etiquette at tea – and god forbid anyone see her atrocious curtsy. Mrs Temminnick is desperate for her daughter to become a proper lady. She enrols Sophronia in Mademoiselle Geraldine’s FinishingAcademy for Young Ladies of Quality. But the finishing school is not all that it seems!

This is a good adventure complete with a strong young female character, vampires, werewolves and dirigibles! I can’t get enough of dirigibles!

Book 11

The Crime at Black Dudley (Albert Campion Mystery) by Margery Allingham

 What I found odd about this book is that the subtitle is “Albert Campion Mystery” yet the Albert Campion character was not the character that solved the mystery and the book implies that we should know who Albert Campion is. It is the first book in the series, therefore there should be no prior knowledge assumed.  That said, it is an enjoyable read.

 In the vein of MC Beaton, Georgette Heyer and Agatha Christie, this novel, first publish in 1929, is set in a Gothic manor in Suffolk where a group of friends have been invited to a weekend long party which becomes the site of a murder on the first evening. The guests are held prisoners by some mafia type thugs, (who do seem a little out of place for the period and the style of writing ) and have to return something before the end of the weekend. It was light and a bit quirky. Allingham is a humorous writer and I suspect if I knew more of the politics of England from that period there would be some political and social references in the novel that would have been quite amusing.