Tags

Favourite classics

Post by Julie from Southport Branch Library.

I have to confess to having 5 equal favourite modern classics and they are all American. I’m uncertain as to why 5 pieces of American literature top my list. I have read equal amounts of English, Australian and to a lesser extent continental European literature. I have enjoyed many of them, even loved some

 

The conformist – Alberto Moravia

 Animal Farm – George Orwell

A descant for gossips – Thea Astley

About a boy – Nick Hornby

The cardboard crown – Martin Boyd

 

 

But none of the above are my all-time favourites. My favourites, in no particular order are

 

 

The grapes of wrath – John Steinbeck

The catcher in the rye – J.D Salinger

To kill a mockingbird – Harper Lee

Catch 22 – Joseph Heller

Breakfast at Tiffany’s – Truman Capote