104 in 52

templeIn the Evil Day by Peter Temple

Well, this was a departure from everything else I have read by Peter Temple. Although this was written earlier (2002), so maybe everything else was a departure. This is a thriller that took me some getting into but once I did I was hooked. In the Evil Day is set in South Africa, Hamburg and London. There are several plots running through the book that do finally intersect in an unexpected way. As with all Temple books the writing is succinct and clever. The plot (while initially complicated) is also very clever, the main character Neiman is a hired bodyguard who comes into the possession of a video that a number of other groups also want and so begins the drama.

What I really missed in this book was the Australian “voice” which is so evident in The Broken Shore, Truth and the Jack Irish series.