104 in 2014 or will I make it!

I am sadly confident that I won’t make the 104 in 2014 challenge. I can probably beat 52 in 2014! I happy with that.

Recently read books

Fatty O’Leary’s Dinner Party by Alexander McCall Smith.

Poor Fatty! His dream to visit Ireland has been nothing but disappointment, the book however was not. I think it is impossible for Alexander McCall Smith to disappoint he is such a delightful writer.

The Vanishing Act by Mette Jakobsen

Set on an island so small it can’t be located on map lives 12 year old Minou, her father, a priest and a magician and his dog. All are suffering the disappearance of Minou’s mother. This is  a beautifully written book, also a gorgeous looking book.

Fighting Ruben Wolfe by Markus Zusak

Marcus Zusak of The Book Thief fame has written quite a few young adult books, and like The Book Thief, they are excellent. Fighting Ruben Wolfe is the second in the Wolfe Brother series. I haven’t read the first of the series but it certainly didn’t detract from understanding the storyline.

The Wolfe Brothers are doing it tough, dad has lost his job, their sister is drinking too much and mum is supporting the family on a cleaners income. The boys get an offer to box in a questionable boxing comp. They make money, they feel confident, they can help out. This is a great coming of age story. Perfect for young male teens.

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

I finally read it, I probably don’t need to review it as everyone else has, except to say I loved it.