The Etymologicon: A Circular Stroll Through the Hidden Connections of the English Language – Mark Forsyth

What a word!  I wasn’t sure I wanted to investigate what was between the covers of this intriguing, funny read.  Understanding the origin of the English language isn’t everyone’s cup of tea for a light relaxing read but I have enjoyed this so much I have to share.  Forsyth won me over to his favourite subject from the Preface of his book.    He has a wicked sense of humour and writes in an easy-to-read, cohesive style.  I didn’t think a non-fiction could be a page turner for me but it was.  I would recommend it to anyone who finds language interesting.  I would suggest you don’t read it in your psychiatrist’s waiting room or you will have others wondering why you are giggling.

How did some of our everyday words and phrases evolve?  That is exactly what happens; words evolve from one meaning into another over hundreds of years e.g., a turn-up for the books, the proof of the pudding, sausage poison in your face, hat cheque point Charlie, parenthetical codpieces, to eat humble pie and many more.

Mark Forsyth is a writer, journalist, proof-reader, ghost-writer and admits he is pedantic.  Forsyth says he was given a copy of the Oxford English Dictionary as a christening present and revels in words, phrases, grammar, rhetoric and prose much to the anxiety of his long-suffering friends, family and anyone who will listen to him.

Give it a go….what can you lose!