Revolution cover crop December 22

Tags

What books are you looking forward to next year?

I have about ten meters of books on in my “to read” shelf. I keep putting them off because there are so many other books I need to read first.  That being said there are a few I’m really looking forward to in the new year.

Revolution by Russell Brand: I’m a huge fan of his Youtube channel (Trews), and I have the book here on my desk, but I think I’ll go buy the audio. The writing style makes it pretty clear this is a book for either reading aloud or performance. It’s a series of rants about the possibility of societal change.

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline: It’s set in a dystopian future where the key to vast wealth and power has been hidden in the virtual world people use for play and work, by a designer obsessed with 1980s gaming. I know as a gaming nerd of a certain age I’m in its key demographic, but I’m sick of dystopias, so I put it aside. I need to go read it now, though, because the movie is coming out. Actually, I may go audiobook instead. Will Wheaton’s the reader, and I’ve enjoyed some of his performances in the past (did he do Snow Crash?). Our Library Service doesn’t have it, in a shocking display of undernerdishness which I will now correct with a purchase request.

More Fool Me: Stephen Fry’s latest memoir has taken a bit of a battering in the critical blogs for not being funny, but now that I know that, going in, I won’t be as disappointed as they seem to be.

A Natural History of Dragons by Marie Brennan. I’ve had this book in my work bag forever. It’s a period piece about a Georgian lady who travels to study dragons. I really need to find the time on it. It seems terrible that I’ve read more than 100 books in the last year, can only get 8 of them on my favorites list, and haven’t found the time for this.

What books are leaping to the top of your “to be read” pile?