Fearless by Eric Blehm

FearlessFearless is the incredible story of US Navy SEAL Adam Brown. Adam was a determined child and teenager who turned to drugs after finishing high school. Thanks to his parent’s brave tough love, his wife Kelley and his re-found connection with his spirituality, Adam was able to overcome his addiction and serve in one of the highest teams in the Navy.

I am neither an American patriot (I’m Australian) or a Christian but I still enjoyed this story. It gave a great insight into both drug addiction and Navy SEAL training. The obstacles Adam Brown had to overcome to get as far as he did were extraordinary and I’m in awe of the physical levels of fitness the Navy SEAL teams had to reach. The book is very, very heavy on Christianity but for some reason this didn’t bother me as much as I thought it would. I figure if your faith helps you overcome an addiction, then feel free to espouse it as much as you like.

One of the main criticisms of this book, and one I’d have to agree with, is that Adam comes across as being very one-dimensional. Apart from the drug addiction he is almost perfect (and even the drug addiction was blamed on an old girlfriend). While I don’t want to speak ill of anybody I’m sure there was more substance to Adam that wasn’t quite revealed in the book. I would have loved to have known what part of his thought process made him so ‘fearless’ and able to overcome his difficulties. In saying that the author could only work with what he researched and it may have been quite difficult to get to the bottom of Adam’s psyche when he is no longer with us (this is not a spoiler – we know this at the beginning of the book).

Overall this is great inspriational non-fiction, espcially for anyone trying to overcome what seems like the insurmountable.

*NOTE* Do not read the final chapters while in public. There is a good chance you’ll cry and it will be awkward and embarrassing for yourself and anyone in the near vicinity.