Magic, Musical Theatre and the youngest doctor on TV

I find holidays are a great time to read books that I wouldn’t normally pick up. This is because I always leave it to the last minute to go and look for something to read. The result is a frantic pick of anything and everything  in fear that I might run out of reading material while on holiday. This is how I ended up with Neil Patrick Harris’s autobiography. For those of you not familiar with his acting work, Neil played the role of Barney Stinson in How I met your mother (HIMYM) TV Series and Doogie in Doogie Howser M.D. He is also an accomplished and award winning stage actor.

I had an idea that I was in for a fun ride when I read the title. Neil Patrick Harris: Chose your own autobiography.

As a boy, actor and MC extraordinaire, Neil Patrick Harris (NPH) was a fan of the Choose -Your -Own -Adventure series of books and choose to use this format for his book as a way of putting the “ u back in autobiography “ I choose not to use this format and opted instead to just read it from cover to cover, as I am more comfortable with that method. I found that reading it this way didn’t affect my enjoyment of this book. As expected it was funny, insightful, entertaining and poignant. I was surprised and impressed by NPH’s honesty and his willingness to discuss everything including his sexuality, relationships and mistakes made only the way. Of course a celebrity bio should always include some name dropping. NPH’s are always in context and several are very quirky. There is also the added bonus of a little dirt on some minor celebrities. This is always well deserved and done in a frank and honest way.

If you haven’t already guessed it I loved it. I think that If you aren’t are fan of NPH before you read it you will be by the time you finish it.