Time for revenge, villains!

Yesterday, May the fourth (be with you) was Star Wars Day.
And, without a doubt, Star Wars is a classic example of a quest narrative.

We have a lot of Star Wars related books in the collection:
from the comprehensive – the Essential Reader’s Companion: a guide to Star Wars fiction,
to the artistic – the storyboards for the original trilogy,
to the funny – cartoons about a bad dad – Darth Vader and Son by Jeffrey Brown

Darth Paper Strikes Back coverToday, however is the Revenge of the Fifth: a great opportunity to celebrate our favourite villains.

I love the styling of the Empire in the original trilogy: all those faceless, white Storm Troopers, and Darth Vader rocking that black on black Villains-R-Us fashion look. Plus, the creepy breathing!

If, like me, you’re a fan of Lord Vader, you might like to check out Darth Paper Strikes Back by Tom Angleberger. It’s one of the Origami Yoda series. Now, I know it’s aimed at 10 year olds (or thereabouts) but it includes instructions for making your own origami Darth Paper and that’s a desktop keeper.

I didn’t find Darth Maul anywhere near as appealing as a villain, mostly because I was disappointed with the styling (just another red and black devil guy). I know, I know. Being a villain is about more than the look and the clothes. Or is it? Check out this list from sci-fi and fantasy publisher, Tor: Evil Couture Inc. – The Best Fashionable Villains.

Some of my favourites make their list, but not all. What about your favourite villains?