Trash

Trash

Trash by Andy Mulligan

I loved this raw emotional book set in the slums of an unnamed country that could easily be any third world country. It is far removed from the tourist strip and is told through multiple narrators. It follows the lives of 3 dumpsite children, Raphael, Gardo and Rat, as they sort through the ‘stuppa’ which is essentially human muck, trying to make a living. One day Raphael’s life is turned upside down when he finds something mysterious. He decides to keep it secret from his friends and family and especially the corrupt officials from the local police. The boys are swept up in a dangerous adventure of hope and determination to right a terrible wrong and save their own lives. This book had me holding my breath and cheering them on. The story highlights the atrocities experienced by the poor and sticks with you longer than the actual adventure story. Trash is also a motion picture but I’m always disappointed by the movie so I might just let the book stay with me for a while.