The Dalai Lama’s cat – David Michie


The Dalai Lama’s Cat – David Michie

An abandoned and injured Himalayan kitten is rescued from the streets of Delhi by the Dalai Lama and taken to his home at Dharamsala.

I admit I picked this book from the shelves as I loved the picture of the cat on the front cover.  As I started to read it I realised that it is so much more than a story about a cat. The book is a thinly disguised insight into the Buddhist way of viewing life.  For example  “…it is not so much the circumstances of our lives that make us happy or unhappy but the way we see them so that if viewed properly even the most unfortunate circumstances can become amazing opportunities for personal growth”.

The book is told from the perspective of HHC (His Holiness’ Cat) also known as Snow Lion, Rinpoche (precious) and Mouser. She describes her life in the temple and the surrounding town as she becomes familiar with Buddhist teachings on mindfulness, compassion and happiness.  It is through this that I started to gain an understanding on Buddhism’s teachings on how to live a better life.