July 27

Tags

Sharp Objects

sharp objectsSharp Objects is written by Gillian Flynn, the author of the hugely popular novel Gone Girl.  It was published in 2006, but many are just discovering it since Gone Girl fame. I didn’t finish reading Gone Girl, as I couldn’t get in to the story – one of the few, I know!  So, I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed this book.

The story centres on Camille Preaker, a troubled young journalist from Chicago, who returns to her oppressive hometown of Wind Gap, Missouri, to investigate the recent murders of two young girls.  Camille is a recovering self-mutilator.  She also has dysfunctional relationships with most of her family, including her control-freak mother, Adora and her precocious 13-year old half-sister Amma.  From the outside Wind Gap appears quiet and peaceful, but as Camille digs deeper into the murders and the story unfolds, so do the lies and sinister secrets.

With twists and turns aplenty, this book has you guessing right up to the very end.   I thoroughly enjoyed Sharp Objects and would recommend it to anyone who likes a dark and twisty thriller.