On the 3rd day of reading…

On the 3rd day of reading my library gave to me:
three of the year’s best lists.

If you were just looking for the best selling books of 2015, you wouldn’t be reading over the summer holidays. You’d be colouring in.

But recommending the best of the year is a tough call – after all, what you’re looking for in the books you read, and what I’m looking for, are not going to be the same (unless you’re overly fond of zombies and tentacles, too.)  So let’s see what’s out there:

Booksellers

Amazon is in the business of selling books, and there’s no denying they know their stuff. Their best of 2015 lists are very user-friendly. Check out their list, which breaks the year’s best into genres and interests – so if you’re really just interested in what were the best Romance, or Sci-Fi or Fantasy books in 2015, and not in the literary ones, you’re covered.

Two of my favourite fantasy novels for the year were Naomi Novik’s Uprooted and Neil Gaiman’s short story collection Trigger Warnings. Both are in the Amazon Fantasy list, along with a whole stack of others that are going onto my to-be-read list.

Newspapers

Any newspaper that reviews books will be featuring a best of 2015 list soon – their editors are probably scrambling as you read this to compile a list that sounds fresh and interesting. Meanwhile, if you are fascinated by the books authors read when they are not writing, have a look the The Guardian’s Best Books of 2015 – part one and part two. I especially enjoy discovering a great new author, because an author whose work I already enjoy has recommended them.

I’m really hoping that the Sydney Morning Herald run another best of list for 2015, like the one they had for 2014. It was full of great Australian and overseas fiction recommended by Australian authors.

My favourite Australian read for 2015 was Fiona McIntosh’s Nightingale – full of history, travel and romance, it’s a perfect novel to add to your summer reading list.

Readers recommend

With over three million votes cast, the Goodreads Choice Awards for 2015 come highly recommended. You can find the best books, voted by millions of readers, in twenty different categories, making it easier for you to find the books you really want to read.

I’m really looking forward, this summer, to reading the final book in the Glamourist Histories by Mary Robinette Kowal – Of Noble Family. Some of my favourite 2015 reading included the third in the series (Without a Summer) and the fourth (the brilliant historical fantasy heist Valour and Vanity).

Before I started using Goodreads as a place to record what I had read and what I wanted to read, I used to have little lists all over the place. It makes things a lot easier to have it all in one, online place. It kind of worries me that my to-be-read list has 174 titles on it, but I’ve come to terms with the truth that I’m never going to read everything I want to read – I just have to find the best ways to prioritise the best books.

So pitch in! Share recommendations of the books you loved in 2015, and what’s on your must-read list for the summer, in the comments below.