The Giver.

The Giver by Lois Lowry.

Post by Kyla.

I read this a few weeks before reading Divergent by Veronica Roth and was struck by the parallels. It’s only when delving deeper did I learn that the award winning The Giver, written in 1993 and following the journey of young Jonas, set the tone for many dystopian novels that followed. The Giver is beautifully written and exquisitely paced. The novel is set in a world where no pain is felt and people are seemingly happy in roles that are perfectly suited to them. It’s a calm world or order and structure and, when I first started reading, I found this appealing and settled back to enjoy the seeming kindness that pervades the early part of the book. My enjoyment, for lack of a better term, became the most terrifying experience of reading the novel when it became obvious that I had missed what was really happening. The ‘sameness’ of the adult characters was not benign and the façade unravels when Jonas is directed into the role he is considered most suited for. I found it intensely compelling and frightening tale.