poisoned crown cutdown image January 08

Tags

Suggest me a series?

January seems like a great excuse to go back through my reading journal and work out what I’ve really enjoyed in the past year.  I listen to series, even if I don’t like them very much at the beginning, in the hope they’ll come right at the end. Suggest me some?  Here’s what I read last year, and my elevator pitch for each.

The Laundry series by Charles Stross:  Le Carre meets the Cthulhu Mythos. I hugely enjoyed this.

The Hornblower series by CS Forester: A touchstone of the naval warfare genre. Went through them like lightning.

The Nightside series by Simon R Green: Urban fantasy, the second half is better than the first half, IMO.

I also started  or continued the following:

Accursed Kings by Maurice Druon: Imagine Game of Thrones set in medieval France. The library Service ahs the first three in audio, so I stopped there, but I’d be happy to continue.

Paladin of Souls by Lois McMaster-Bujold: One of the best fantasy novels I’ve read, and I’ve read more fantasy novels than you’d believe possible. The three books in this series are so strongly separated that I didn’t need to continue to finish the story.

A Natural History of Dragons and Shades of Milk and Honey: I think these two suffered for being in my TBR for too long.  Basically they are both “Auten plus magic”; dragons in the first case, illusions in the second.

The Lies of Locke Lamora: again, I think I built this one up a bit too much because people kept telling me how epic it was. An interesting caper story.

13 little blue envelopes: good, but self-contained enough that I didn’t need to read the sequel.

Working for Bigfoot: I love the Dresden files, so I was pleased to get an extra entry.

The Shepherds Crown: Vale Terry. A little undercooked, but loved for sentimental reasons.

The Monogram Murders by Sophie Hannah: A new Poirot, slightly odd in tone.

So…suggestions for series I can tear through?