What the Dickens? It’s 2016?

Confound and dagnabbit!
What happened to last year? For that matter, what happened to last week? I’m not even reporting on the new year in a timely fashion.

I’ve just been tidying up the old blog dashboard and I found some drafts for reading journal posts from last August, It’s nice to know that I was diligently listing what I’d been reading, but the truth of it is that my reading last year nose-dived (less than 100 books! I haven’t read so little in years*) and my reporting on what I’d read was even worse.

I only managed to review 36 of the 96 that I read. Sorry!
I was often late when I posted monthly reading journals, but at least I posted them. Last year’s attempt at reviewing books by theme did not work out for me.

So, what did I read last year that I LOVED? (At least I had the sense to keep a record in Goodreads, if not to review them.)

My favourites for 2015 were:

SHORT STORIES

  • Trigger Warnings by Nail Gaiman (read 8/03)
  • Get in Trouble by Kelly Link (read 30/04)

SERIES

  • urban fantasy – the October Daye books by Seanan McGuire: #6 Ashes of Honor (read 27/01), #7 Chimes at Midnight (read 14/02), #8 The Winter Long (read 11/03)
  • historical fantasy – the Glamourist Histories by Mary Robinette Kowal #2 Glamour in Glass (read 2/10), #3 Without a Summer (read 9/10) and #4 Valour and Vanity (read 12/10)
  • historical mysteries – Crowther and Westerman series by Imogen Robertson: #3 Island of Bones (read 4/01), #4 Circle of Shadows (read 2/02), #5 Theft of Life (read 14/02)
  • Golden Age crime mysteries – the first 8 books of the Lord Peter Whimsy mysteries by Dorothy L. Sayers

LATEST INSTALLMENTS by MY FAVOURITE AUTHORS

  • Nightingale by Fiona McIntosh (read 22/04)
  • Who Buries the Dead by C.S. Harris (read 23/03)
  • The Future Falls by Tanya Huff (read 11/02)
  • Carry On by Rainbow Rowell (read 21/12)

FABULOUS NEW FINDS (well, new for me!)

  • Something Red by Nicholas Douglas (read 15/07)
  • Withering-By-Sea by Judith Rossell (read 5/04/2015)
  • The Game of Kings by Dorothy Dunnett (read 11/12)

All in all, a good year and there’s plenty more where that came from – I’m working on Whimsy #9 at the moment and looking forward to starting the final, fifth book in the Glamourist Histories soon.

Back to reading I go!

* Numbers don’t matter and it’s all relative anyway. For me, 96 is not a lot, that’s all.