February 01

Tags

Suggest me a biography?

Looking back on 2015, I read 110 books, and 8 of them were biographies. I had no idea I read so many, or enjoyed them so much. Please suggest new ones in the comments?

To give you an idea of what I enjoyed, last year I read the following books. Here are my elevator pitches for each:

Yes Please! by Amy Poehler: I’m not familiar with her work on Parks and Recreation, so many of the details were lost on me. Well written.

The Art of Asking by Amanda Palmer: A generously written, wrenchingly personal book about Amanda’s professional practice and personal life.

A Lady’s Captivity Among Chinese Pirates in the Chinese Seas by Fanny Loviot: The authoress makes very sure you know she was safe the whole time during the introduction, to defend her virtue. As flat as you’d expect with that beginning.

Naval Occasions and Some Traits of the Sailor Man by Bartimeus: Far more touching when you realise the “fiction” is actually biographical, and the author was blinded in military service.

War Letters from A Young Queenslander by Robert Allen: An ANZAC Cove diary by a young Queenslander. Of particular interest to Australians.

Washington Irving in London by Washington Irving: Oddly, I do not recall this at all. My notes say it captures the place vividly, but is not recommended for those not familiar with the sites.

My Experiences as an Executioner by James Berry: An excellent little book for those who write or read Victorian crime novels.

How Music Works by David Byrne: An interesting book about how the music business operates and the formation of the band Talking Heads.