Saga: the book which will convince you to read graphic novels

So, for the last few years I’ve advocated strongly that all the staff in my library, and all of our Book coasters readers, should at least try the graphic novel format. I’ve talked about four-color heroes and  biographies of concentration camp survivors, surreal dark fantasy and nostalgic Americana,  Biblical interpretations and Tori Amos lyrics, books for children and books only for adults, but some of you haven’t been convinced. Today, I’m bringing out the big guns.

saga-cover

Saga has won the Eisner Award for Best Continuing Series for the last three years. It’s space opera, about soldiers from opposing armies who fall in love and go on the run. Their daughter is born on the second page, and she’s the narrator. The powers that be on either side of the war decide that they are abominations. One side sends a pair of bounty hunters, who are not what they seem, to kill the couple. The others side sends a prince of the robot nation (who has a colour television as a head, but is decidedly not a comedic character). The story follows these groups as their lives interveave, and as alliances about them shift.

The story is excellent, but I’ll skip it because I don’t want to hand out spoilers. I’d particularly like to comment on the art. I’ve argued repeatedly you don’t need great art to tell a great story, but in this case, it lets the authors worldbuild effortlessly. Fiona Staples is just a brilliant artist, which is why I’ve used such a large cover image.

The Library Service has a heap of Saga.  You should check it out.