New York Night

New York Night by Stephen Leather.

I do not often read supernatural thrillers, but I do enjoy The Dresden Files by Jim Butcher, so I gave this one a go. I found that I enjoyed this book even more than The Dresden Files, despite it being the 7th in the Jack Nightingale series. It was easy to tell that there had been earlier novels in the story line, but this book was able to stand on it’s own, and I am now going back to read the earlier books in the series!

Jack Nightingale is an English detective with a fear of elevators who is called in to solve ‘shady’ cases with possible links to the supernatural for the rich Joshua Wainwright. In New York Night Jack arrives in New York to find that teenagers are being brutally murdered with numerous cuts made on their bodies to disguise a sigil mark – this is a magic sign that is effectively a devil’s signature. Both Wainwright and Nightingale know that this means that there could be murderous demons on the loose in New York. Assisting Jack in the case is an attractive New York private eye called Cheryl Perez.

Earlier books in the series are: Nightfall, Midnight, Nightmare, Nightshade, Lastnight and San Francisco Night.