September 20

Tags

Wicked Autumn by G. M. Malliet

index-1

 

Wicked Autumn by G. M. Malliet

Max Tudor is a former MI5 agent turned newly appointed Vicar of St Edwold’s in the perfect English village of Nether Monkslip. When the serene peace of village life is shattered by the seemingly accidental death of Wanda Batton-Smythe, a terrifyingly outspoken member of the local Women’s Institute, Max must re-connect with the dangers of a life he had thought was safely in his past, and use his secret agent skills to uncover the truth.

I just loved meeting Max (I have a soft spot for clerical detectives), and I really enjoyed the puzzling out this complicated mystery. G. M. Malliet writes well, and creates believable characters who react convincingly to their circumstances. I was thrilled to find that Wicked Autumn was first in a series, and after reading it, I promptly requested the others, which I also greatly enjoyed. I did attempt G.M. Malliet’s other series, the St. Just mysteries, but must admit that I did not find them as compelling.

Recommended for fans of Father Brown, Brother Cadfael, and Sidney Chambers!