Pigsticks and Harold and the Pirate Treasure by Alex Milway

REVIEW BY KAHLI

index-1

Pigsticks and Harold and the Pirate Treasure by Alex Milway

I can’t remember how I stumbled across Pigsticks – I think I read a recommendation on some blog somewhere… but I’m glad I did.

I chose to listen to Pigsticks and Harold and the Pirate Treasure as it was available in eAudiobook format on BorrowBox. There are other titles in the Pigsticks series available as audiobooks from the library and I can’t wait to revisit these characters.

I listened to the eAudiobook on my phone while tidying my room and it was a wonderful distraction. From the humorous banter between Pigsticks and his helpful hamster friend Harold to the lighthearted tale of two friends trying to save their town from the greedy Sir Percival Snout it was a pleasure to listen to. The narrator, Stanley McGeagh, does a great job of giving each character a unique voice, and clearly describes the action as it unfolds.

I would suggest this audiobook would be suitable for ages 5 and older. Some of the dialogue and terms used may be missed by younger audiences, but they may find their way back as the story progresses. Great for listening to in the car or on a rainy afternoon.