Author Archives: Bibliophile

July 11

The River Sings

The River sings by Australian author Sandra Leigh Price is enchanting. Patrin is a Romany gypsy living in nineteenth century England. The traditions of her people are entrenched in her heart and flow through her blood: being connected to nature, following the seasons, living off the land, following the wind and living a nomadic lifestyle. […]

July 09

Juniper: the girl who was born too soon

Juniper: the girl who was born too soon. Parents Tom & Kelley French, are both journalists and professors in The Media School at Indiana University. Together they wrote Juniper, a memoir that is an astounding testament to the miraculous marvels of science and medical support, the determination of a mother and father and micro-premie baby with a […]

May 11

A Hundred small lessons

A Hundred small lessons by Brisbane author Ashley Hay is a novel that would appeal to readers of Kate Morton and Kristin Hannah. The novel is told in dual narrative. The reader meets Elsie and Lucy, two very different women, from two different generations who are connected by one common feature……their house. When elderly Elsie falls she […]

May 09

The Trick

The Great Zabbatini was once a great magician, who wowed audiences with his great illusions but now he is a bitter, delusional old man who wishes to perform his final earthly trick. That of disappearing permanently from the face of the Earth and his awful life. “No one had a more acute sense of disillusionment […]

May 07

The Shoemaker’s wife

In 1905, young brothers Ciro and Eduardo are taken to the convent of San Nicola by their newly widowed mother. Ciro and Eduardo are robust, healthy mountain boys who know the value of brotherhood, are not afraid of hard work and appreciate the beauty of their village home in the Northern Italian Alps. As the chapters […]

The Paris Time Capsule

“The Paris Time Capsule” by Ella Carey is based on an amazing true event. In 2010, an apartment in the ninth arrondissement of Paris was opened by estate assessors after being sealed for approximately seventy years – ever since the start of World War II. The executors of the estate described walking into the apartment […]

March 06

The Velvet Hours

In 2010, an apartment in the ninth arrondissement of Paris was opened by estate assessors after being sealed for approximately seventy years – ever since the start of World War II. The executors of the estate described walking into the apartment as like “entering the home of sleeping beauty”. The lavishly decorated apartment was a […]

March 05

The Boy made of snow

Young, innocent Daniel is too young to be the “man of the house” but has the role thrust upon him with his father away fighting in the war. Daniel lives in a small English village with his depressed mother who is often distant, neglectful and a possible alcohol problem. Daniel copes by living in an […]

January 05

Someone else’s child

Someone else’s child by Helen Klein Ross is a thought-provoking and emotionally charged novel.  Lucy Wakefield is a good woman, with good values and good intentions but one day, apparently with quite innocent intention, Lucy did something so spontaneous that is was shocking. Her act was heartbreakingly wrong and yet I am sure that the reader will empathise […]

November 05

The Witch of little Italy

If you are interested in magic realism, everyday magic and modern witches, then The Witch of little Italy by Suzanne Palmieri is for you! The Amore sisters are elderly residents in the Bronx. However they are not your everyday pensioners. The Amore sisters are blessed with the “sight”. They are “seers” of the truth. Enter […]