Category Archives: Fantasy and Science Fiction

March 19

The mermaid and Mrs. Hancock : a history in three volumes / written by Imogen Hermes Gowar

The mermaid and Mrs. Hancock : a history in three volumes / written by Imogen Hermes Gowar. Review submitted by an Elanora library staff member. For something totally different this book has it all. Historical fiction with a twist.  A tale that involves a mermaid, a merchant, a brothel and courtesans in Georgian London. As I write this it […]

March 02

All rights reserved

All Rights Reserved by Gregory Scott Katsoulis. Young Adult fiction.  Post by Rebecca. Imagine a world where every word you speak or gesture you make costs you – literally.  This is the premise of All Rights Reserved, a dystopian novel pitched at teenagers but just as fascinating to read as an adult.  The author has […]

February 26

Furies of Calderon

Furies of Calderon by Jim Butcher For fans of David Eddings and Raymond E. Feist a well written Saga begins with the Furies of Calderon. Jim Butcher weaves a tale of magic, power, war and politics. The story revolves around the central character of Tavi: a young boy living in the world of Alera. The […]

December 08

Gentleman Jole and the Red Queen by Lois McMaster-Bujold

Lois McMaster-Bujold is one of the grandmasters of science fiction. She’s has so many Hugo Awards they made up an extra one to hand her this year (Best Series). She’s been writing the Vorkosigan Saga for roughly forty years, and so it’s with some sadness I read this book, which feels like an ending. That’s […]

December 07

Brave New World

Brave new world: with the essay “Brave new world revisited” By Aldous Huxley; foreword by Christopher Hitchens. Brave New World is a classic dystopian novel published in 1932 by Aldous Huxley, the English author of many other big titles including Chrome Yellow (1921) and Point Counter Point (1928). The themes of the novel are often […]

November 30

John Dies at the End by David Wong

The book is a horror comedy., mixing Lovecraftian themes and black humour. It’s the first novel by Jason Pargin, under the pen name of David Wong. Pargin is a prolific writer for the Cracked website, and there’s crossover in his style of humor. The novel was originally written as episodic blog posts, so structurally it […]

November 24

Riverworld by Philip Jose Farmer

In a single moment, everyone wakes. Everyone. Every human, ever, wakes on the banks of a river millions of miles long. They are naked, hairless and returned to their early twenties. Every infirmity is gone. Each has a cylinder tied to their wrist, which they discover provides three meals a day, and some other little […]

September 13

Beyond the Wall [electronic resource] : Exploring George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire, from A Game of Thrones to A Dance with Dragons. by James Lowder (editor).

Beyond the Wall [electronic resource] : Exploring George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire, from A Game of Thrones to A Dance with Dragons. Winter has come. A Game of Thrones – you’ve read the books, you’ve seen the series, and you don’t want the experience to end. Stay in the conversation with […]

June 12

Re-reading Your Favourite Book of Your Childhood

Have you ever watched a movie or seen a replay of an old TV show you loved as a kid, or maybe as an adult a couple of decades ago when it was fresh.  You re-watched it now and thought, well that’s not that great. Well what about books? Since they are finally getting around […]

May 24

Brood of the Witch Queen by Sax Rohmer and the train wreck that is early pulp

Can you enjoy books you know are on the wrong side of history? Recently I enjoyed the first of the Bony mysteries, even though it’s steeped so deep in 1920s Australian racism. I’ve just tried another book I knew was going to have all kinds of problems, and it’s defeated me. I’m listening to it, […]