Category Archives: Fantasy and Science Fiction

May 31

Year One by Nora Roberts

Now if you already have an opinion about Nora Roberts and her books, think again. Year One is unlike any other Nora Roberts book and I was pleasantly surprised that my only gripe with it was that I will have to wait a whole year for the next book. Nora has an amazing ability to […]

May 28

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas

There has been a lot of hype about this series and I am glad that I finally succumbed to the temptation of reading it. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas begins with a similar tale to beauty and the beast. Feyre provides for her family in poor times and one fateful day changes her life […]

April 23

The Handmaid’s tale by Margaret Atwood

The Handmaid’s tale by Margaret Atwood   A disturbing dystopia set in the near future where misguided mysogynistic  religious zealots have taken over America, or “Gilead” as it now known, thinking they can right the wrongs of society by returning to the “old values”. Women have become less than chattels are no longer allowed to […]

March 30

Little Demons by Danny Elfman

In 1991 Danny Elfman wrote a screenplay for a black comedy about three circus orphans who become serial killers. He wasn’t able to develop it beyond demo tracks for most of the songs, but eventually used some of the material for Tim Burton’s Nightmare Before Christmas. The material has since found its way to the web, […]

March 19

The mermaid and Mrs. Hancock : a history in three volumes / written by Imogen Hermes Gowar

The mermaid and Mrs. Hancock : a history in three volumes / written by Imogen Hermes Gowar. Review submitted by an Elanora library staff member. For something totally different this book has it all. Historical fiction with a twist.  A tale that involves a mermaid, a merchant, a brothel and courtesans in Georgian London. As I write this it […]

March 02

All rights reserved

All Rights Reserved by Gregory Scott Katsoulis. Young Adult fiction.  Post by Rebecca. Imagine a world where every word you speak or gesture you make costs you – literally.  This is the premise of All Rights Reserved, a dystopian novel pitched at teenagers but just as fascinating to read as an adult.  The author has […]

February 26

Furies of Calderon

Furies of Calderon by Jim Butcher For fans of David Eddings and Raymond E. Feist a well written Saga begins with the Furies of Calderon. Jim Butcher weaves a tale of magic, power, war and politics. The story revolves around the central character of Tavi: a young boy living in the world of Alera. The […]

December 08

Gentleman Jole and the Red Queen by Lois McMaster-Bujold

Lois McMaster-Bujold is one of the grandmasters of science fiction. She’s has so many Hugo Awards they made up an extra one to hand her this year (Best Series). She’s been writing the Vorkosigan Saga for roughly forty years, and so it’s with some sadness I read this book, which feels like an ending. That’s […]

December 07

Brave New World

Brave new world: with the essay “Brave new world revisited” By Aldous Huxley; foreword by Christopher Hitchens. Brave New World is a classic dystopian novel published in 1932 by Aldous Huxley, the English author of many other big titles including Chrome Yellow (1921) and Point Counter Point (1928). The themes of the novel are often […]

November 30

John Dies at the End by David Wong

The book is a horror comedy., mixing Lovecraftian themes and black humour. It’s the first novel by Jason Pargin, under the pen name of David Wong. Pargin is a prolific writer for the Cracked website, and there’s crossover in his style of humor. The novel was originally written as episodic blog posts, so structurally it […]