March 05

The Boy made of snow

Young, innocent Daniel is too young to be the “man of the house” but has the role thrust upon him with his father away fighting in the war. Daniel lives in a small English village with his depressed mother who is often distant, neglectful and a possible alcohol problem. Daniel copes by living in an […]

March 02

All rights reserved

All Rights Reserved by Gregory Scott Katsoulis. Young Adult fiction.  Post by Rebecca. Imagine a world where every word you speak or gesture you make costs you – literally.  This is the premise of All Rights Reserved, a dystopian novel pitched at teenagers but just as fascinating to read as an adult.  The author has […]

March 01

A gathering light

A Gathering Light by Jennifer Donnelly, available as an e-book, and in Young Adult fiction.  Post by Rebecca. Young-adult fiction can be a real pleasure to read as an adult.  The stories are usually direct, compelling and told with passion.  A Gathering Light is a young adult title that starts slowly but grows on you […]

A Cowherd in Paradise: From China to Canada by May Q. Wong

In this remarkable account, May Q. Wong follows the lives of Wong Guey Dang (1902-1983) and Jiang Tew Thloo (1911-2002). Married for over half a century, the couple was forced to live apart for twenty-five years because of Canada’s exclusionary immigration laws. In China, Ah Thloo struggled to survive natural disasters, wars and revolutions; while […]

February 28

On the other hand

  The Other Hand by Chris Cleave    Post by Rebecca. Right from the first page of this beautifully written book, I knew I was reading something fresh and original.  The Other Hand takes us into the heart and mind of Little Bee, a young and traumatised Nigerian refugee who has fled her home country […]

February 27

The girl who takes an eye for an eye

The Girl who takes an eye for an eye by David Lagerantz.  Post by Robyn55 For the readers of the Millennium trilogy the untimely death of their talented author Stieg Larsson, was a ‘way too soon’ tragedy.  However we were all happy to hear that Mikael Blomkvist and Lisbeth Salander would be resurrected in the hands of […]

February 26

Furies of Calderon

Furies of Calderon by Jim Butcher For fans of David Eddings and Raymond E. Feist a well written Saga begins with the Furies of Calderon. Jim Butcher weaves a tale of magic, power, war and politics. The story revolves around the central character of Tavi: a young boy living in the world of Alera. The […]

February 19

Friends and Traitors by John Lawton

  Friends and Traitors by John Lawton While holidaying in Vienna in 1958, Scotland Yard’s Chief Superintendent Frederick Troy is approached by an old friend, Guy Burgess. Burgess is infamous as the notorious British spy turned traitor who fled to Moscow in 1951, when he was outed as a Soviet double agent. Now, seven years after […]

February 18

The Zig Zag Girl by Elly Griffiths

Posted by Neen The Zig Zag Girl by Elly Griffiths This atmospheric murder mystery is set in the slightly tawdry theatrical world of post-war Brighton, and will appeal to fans of historically accurate British mysteries.  DI Edgar Stephens enlists the help of his friend, Max Mephisto to investigate the death of a beautiful woman, who was previously Max’s stage assistant. Her […]

The Corfu Trilogy by Gerald Durrell

The Corfu Trilogy includes three classic tales of childhood in an island paradise by Gerald Durrell. They are, My Family and Other Animals, Birds, Beasts and Relatives and The Garden of the Gods . This trilogy inspired the television series ‘The Durrells’. When you watch the series you get to see the beautiful environment that is the setting […]